Obtaining a Marriage License

Marriage licenses are issued by the County Clerk. The application fee is $50. Both parties must be present and bring valid photo identification. Both parties will be asked a number of questions in order to complete the marriage license application. This process takes approximately 30 minutes. No blood tests are required.

The marriage license becomes effective the day after it is issued (you can not be married until the following day) and expires in 60 days. You must be married in the county where the license is issued, regardless of your county of residence.

Applications are not accepted any later than 3 p.m.

Who May Be Married?

Illinois law provides for marriages of men and women over the age of 18, so long as they are not related within cousins of the first degree. Minors under age 18 but over age 16 may be married with the consent of parents. Both parents must appear at the time the license is issued and sign an affidavit consenting to marriage.

Who Can Perform the Marriage Ceremony?

Any ordained minister or religious leader may perform your marriage ceremony. Rules for the celebration of marriage in a religious ceremony vary from church to church. Many couples are married in a short civil ceremony by a Circuit Judge. Appointments should be scheduled in advance through the Judge’s office and a $20 fee applies. The officiant will complete the marriage license following the ceremony, and both parties and their witnesses must sign. The completed license must then be returned to the County Clerk by the officiant.

Certified Copies of Marriage License

Certified copies of marriage licenses are available once they are returned and indexed in the County Clerk’s office. Certified copies are often needed to change the last name of the bride, obtain new identification, update insurance policies, etc.

Copies are available for $18, and $6 each for additional copies of the same license. Copies of a certified marriage license may be obtained in person at the County Clerk’s office, upon written mailed request or on-line using Illinois e-Pay.

Pay Online Via Credit / Debit

Call the County Clerk’s office at (618) 357-5116 if you have questions about obtaining a marriage license.