Registering a Business

Several steps are required of those starting their own business. Other information is also available to assist business owners.

Sole Proprietor or General Partnership Businesses

Illinois law requires that many businesses file a Certificate of assumed name in the County where the business operates. If you will have a sole proprietor or general partnership business then you should file at Perry County Clerk’s Office.

Anyone transacting business in Perry County who is not a corporation and is not using only his/her full name as the name of the business must file. Applicants complete a short notarized form listing the business name, its address and the name(s) of all owners. Clerk’s fee is $21. All Certificates of Assumed Name are on file and available for public inspection in the County Clerk’s office.

A publication certificate will be issued. This must be taken to a local newspaper and published once a week for three consecutive weeks. Business owners are responsible for the publication fees charged by the newspaper for legal ad publication. The transaction must be completed within 55 days of the original filing in the County Clerk’s office.

Once published, the newspaper will send verification of publication to the County Clerk’s office and a Certificate of Business Ownership will be mailed.

Articles of Incorporation

If you will have an incorporated, corporated or limited business then you should file for Articles of Incorporation with the Secretary of State’s office in Springfield. Once these Articles are issued, they should be recorded in the County Clerk’s office.

Additional Information

In addition to filing an Assumed Name Certificate, you are required to notify the Illinois Department of Revenue to obtain an Employer Identification number and report sales tax income. You must also notify the Illinois Department of Employment Security to report your employees and pay unemployment insurance.

There are many state, federal and private entities that regulate and assist business owners. These include groups that provide education, counseling, low-interest loans and a myriad of other programs. The County Clerk’s office distributes packets of information to aid you when you file your Assumed Name Certificate.

Helpful Links